Holland, Richardson in Aussie squad for South Africa series

January 22, 2018
Australia's David Warner walks off after he was caught out by England during their one day international cricket match in Sydney, Sunday, Jan. 21, 2018. (AP Photo/Rick Rycroft)

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — Australia selectors have recalled Jon Holland and added Jhye Richardson to expand the squad which won the Ashes for the upcoming four-test tour to South Africa.

Steve Smith’s Australians beat England 4-0 in the five-test series to regain the Ashes and have stuck with the winning formula with a few additions in the 15-man squad.

Cameron Bancroft was retained as an opening partner for vice-captain David Warner, again at the expense of Matt Renshaw.

Peter Handscomb, who lost his place in the starting XI when allrounder Mitch Marsh was recalled during the Ashes, is again the backup batsman.

The bowling attack, which featured Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins and off-spinner Nathan Lyon, will have Jackson Bird, left-arm orthodox spinner Holland and paceman Richardson as backup.

Australia selector Trevor Hohn said Holland, who has played two tests, deserved a place as the second-leading wicket taker in the Sheffield Shield domestic first-class competition last season and Richardson was had been impressive during his chances in the one-day format

“We envisage the wickets we will see in South Africa will not warrant the need to play two spinners,” Hohn said in a statement Monday. “Therefore, should (Lyon) not be able to play at any stage, we wanted to have the best specialist spinner available to us and based on current red-ball form Jon warrants that spot.”

The test squad leaves for South Africa on Feb. 15 with the exception of Warner, who will lead the Australian Twenty20 squad which will be involved in a tri-series against New Zealand and England. The test series in South Africa starts March 1 in Durban.

“The South Africa series is a very important one and we have made no secret of our desire to improve our record away from home,” Hohn said.

Bancroft’s selection was under a cloud after a moderate Ashes series.

Apart from his unbeaten 82 in the second innings of the first test at Brisbane, Bancroft had scores of 5, 10, 4, 25, 26, 27 and a duck.

Meanwhile, D’Arcy Short, Alex Carey and Ben Dwarshuis are the only uncapped players included in the Twenty20 squad also announced on Monday. Glenn Maxwell has been recalled to that squad after missing selection for Australia’s current one-day international series against England.

“D’Arcy’s selection speaks for itself,” T20 selector Mark Waugh said. “He is the leading run-scorer in the (Big Bash League) and has also taken valuable wickets when handed the ball. He is in outstanding form and we look forward to seeing what he can bring to this T20 side.”

The 23-year-old Dwarshuis wins his first Australia call-up before playing in the domestic first-class competition.


Test squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Jackson Bird, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc.

Twenty20 squad: David Warner (captain), Aaron Finch, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.