Click to copy
Click to copy

Date Set For Third Annual Veterans Ride For Honor

May 8, 2019

The third annual Karen Boback Veterans Ride for Honor will be held Sunday, May 26. The event raises funds to support local veterans organizations. The event is sponsored by the Daddow Isaacs American Legion, Post 672, Dallas. The bike run is sponsored by the American Legion Riders from Post 672, Dallas. Donations of $15 per rider and $10 per passenger will include an event patch for the first 150 riders, donated by the Rotary Club of Dallas, and a chicken barbecue, soda, water and coffee. The barbecue will be prepared by the Kunkle Fire Company. Walk-ins may purchase the barbecue only for $10 per person. The barbecue will be served from 3 to 5 p.m. Other food and refreshments will be available for purchase. No alcoholic beverages will be permitted outside. This is a rain or shine event and is open to the public. Advance tickets are available at the Legion bar for the barbecue, but they do not include bike run registration. For information, call Art Pimm from the Dallas American Legion Riders at 570-760-1990 or call the Legion post at 570-675-6542. On-site registration for the bike run will be from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. at the Black Walnut American Legion Post 510, 328 Old Route 6, Laceyville. The ride ends at the Dallas American Legion Post 672 at 730 Memorial Highway, Dallas. The day’s schedule includes: 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., bike run registration in Laceyville; 2 p.m., all motorcycles will arrive at the Legion in Dallas via Route 415 from Harveys Lake; 2:30 p.m. honor guard and guest speakers in Dallas; 3 to 5 p.m., chicken barbecue will be served; 3 to 7 p.m., DJ Dennis Thorne Jr. live on the premises; 6 p.m., raffle drawings. Planning committee participants, first row, from left, are Michael Brandon, ride event chairman; state Rep. Karen Boback; Art Parks, sergeant at arms, Dallas Legion Riders, and Art Pimm, event chairman. Second row: Art Peoples, event treasurer, Rotary Club of Dallas; Sheila Brandon, Dallas Legion Riders; George Tucker, president, Board of the Dallas Legion; Darlene Kupstas, treasurer, Dallas Legion; Charles Fleming, commander, Dallas Legion; Joe Kelley, event chairman/veterans affairs. Also participating is Larry Lansberry, president, American Legion Riders of Dallas.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.