3 to be inducted into Nebraska Journalism Hall of Fame

October 18, 2018

The Nebraska Journalism Hall of Fame will add three names at a banquet Friday at the Cornhusker Marriott Hotel in downtown Lincoln.

The 2018 inductees are John Gottschalk, Allen J. Beermann and the late Stuart Bohacek.

Stuart “Stu” Bohacek

Bohacek started his journalism career in 1949, when he became owner, editor and columnist of the Wilber Republican in Wilber, Nebraska, southwest of Lincoln, the Nebraska Press Association said.

After he left the paper in 1956, Bohacek worked with the U.S. Information Agency while stationed in Japan and serving in the Army. In the military, Bohacek learned to speak Czech and Russian.

While serving in Prague, Bohacek was the chief of the Czechoslovak Service for Voice of America, the USIA’s radio arm.

Bohacek, who died in 1982 at the age of 71, is buried at Arlington National Cemetery.

John Gottschalk

Gottschalk grew up in a newspaper family and started his journalism career at the Sheridan County Star in Gordon, Nebraska, in the northwest corner of the state.

In 1968, at the age of 25, Gottschalk became owner and publisher of the Sidney Telegraph in Sidney, Nebraska. In 1975, he joined The World-Herald, where he eventually became CEO and publisher, turning the paper into an industry leader in digital typesetting and offset production.

Allen J. Beermann

After six terms as Nebraska’s secretary of state, Beermann was named the executive director of the Nebraska Press Association, becoming a “dedicated advocate for the state’s newspapers, open government and Nebraskans’ right to know,” the association said.

While executive director, Beermann also has been a board member for the National Newspaper Association Foundation, hosted an NNA convention in Omaha and helped establish programs for the NNA’s Fellows Program.

A committee of Nebraska Press Association members and University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications representatives chooses the inductees from those nominated.

The hall of fame honors those who have made significant contributions to journalism in their communities, the state or the nation. Since the first ceremony in April 1975, 109 people have been inducted.