Spring boys athletes selected to basketball All-District teams

March 6, 2019 GMT

Spring Independent School District basketball coaches announced the District 16-6A All-District teams following the end of each team’s 2018-19 regular season and playoffs.

Spring and Westfield each had four student-athletes represented on both teams, including two Lions being honored as Players of the Year.

Spring senior Keionte Cornelius and senior Christyon Eugene were named Co-Offensive Players of the Year.

“The most complete player (Christyon) I’ve coached,” Spring head coach Cody Glass said. “It’s the second year in a row he’s led our team in assists, rebounds, blocks and steals to go along with 20 points per game. Natural leader.

“Keionte is the best shooter I’ve seen in a long time. He puts in a lot of hours outside of practice working on his game. Quick left handed guard with in the gym range. Led the team in scoring two years in a row.”

Spring lost to South Garland 63-47 in the Class 6A regional semifinals, March 1, at Ellis Davis Field House in Dallas to end the season under Glass.

The Lions, finished with a 23-13 overall record 10-4 district record, were playing in the in regional semis for the first time since 2010. The team had beaten Klein Collins 72-69 in overtime in the regional quarterfinal round, Feb. 26, at the Coleman Coliseum.

Spring senior Torreon Bergeron and senior Pharoah Dixon were selected to the all-district second team.

“Torreon is a three-year letterman who has gotten better every year,” Glass said. “He’s a really good passer and a tenacious on ball defender. He gave of us three guards who could handle the ball.

“Pharoah, a two-sport athlete (baseball and basketball), gave us versatility with his rebounding and three-point shooting. Pharaoh usually guarded the other team’s best players. He brought a toughness to our team.”

Westfield had three players represented on the first team and one in the second team.

The Mustangs closed the season at 18-14 overall, 9-5 in district play and as bi-district finalists under head coach Billy Goffney.

“Well the first thing is that it’s great to have three first team guys coming back,” Goffney said. “One is a freshman Willie Williams who in my opinion is as good as any freshman in the city at his position. Eli and Lonzo set the tempo first in practice and then on the court. Two extremely hard working guys. Bryce was our senior and had the most experience of all our guys. He will be missed.”

Dekaney had two players represented on the first team.

The Wildcats lost to host Westfield 60-51, Feb. 12, to close the regular and district season under head coach Eythan John.

Aldine Eisenhower’s Ja’Mare Redus was named Most Valuable Player.

Aldine Nimitz’s Andre Washington was named Defensive Player of the Year and fellow Cougar Reggie Comeaux was named Newcomer of the Year.

Eisenhower head coach James Johnson was named Coach of the Year.

First Team All-District 16-6A

Junior Eli Lee - Spring Westfield

Junior Lonzo Rand - Spring Westfield

Freshman Willie Williams - Spring Westfield

Sophomore Daelyn Williams - Spring DeKaney

Sophomore Var’keyes Gumms - Spring DeKaney

Marcus Carruthers - Aldine MacArthur

James Harrison - Aldine Nimitz

Jordan Jones - Aldine

Xavier Keys - Aldine

Roland McDougal - Aldine Davis

Ja’Mere Redus - Aldine Eisenhower

Karl Reynolds - Aldine Nimitz

Second Team All-District 16-6A

Pharoah Dixon - Spring

Torreon Bergeron - Spring

Senior Bryce Burns - Westfield

Matthew Barker - Aldine Eisenhower

Oseas Colon - Aldine MacArthur

Tyrell Edwards - Aldine Davis

Josh Gaton - Aldine MacArthur

Patrick Punch - Aldine Eisenhower

Antione Rose - Aldine Nimitz

Faybeyon Shelton - Aldine Eisenhower

Shane Soularie - Aldine

Bralyn Thomas - Aldine