Related topics

New Israeli Cabinet Approved by Parliament

June 11, 1990 GMT

JERUSALEM (AP) _ Following is the new Cabinet that Prime Minister Yitzhak Shamir submitted Monday to the Knesset, or Israeli parliament. Party affiliations are in parenthesis.

Prime Minister, Yitzhak Shamir (Likud)

Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister, David Levy (Likud)

Deputy Prime Minister and Industry and Trade Minister, Moshe Nissim (Likud)

Defense, Moshe Arens (Likud)

Finance, Yitzhak Modai (Likud-Liberal faction)

Housing, Ariel Sharon (Likud)

Justice, Dan Meridor (Likud)

Interior, Arye Deri (Shas)

Police, Ronnie Milo (Likud)

Economy and Planning, David Magen (Likud)

Communications, Rafael Pinhasi (Shas)

Transportation, Moshe Katzav (Likud)

Tourism, Gideon Patt (Likud)

Health, Ehud Olmert (Likud)

Education, Zevulun Hammer (National Religious Party)

Religious Affairs, Avner Shaki (NRP) Science and Energy, Yuval Neeman (Tehiya)

Agriculture, Rafael Eitan (Tzomet)

Immigrant Absorption, Yitzhak Peretz (Independent-breakaway from Shas)

Shamir retained the Labor and Social Welfare portfolio and the Environment portfolio for himself.

Following are some deputy ministers expected to serve in the new government:

Prime Ministry, Yigal Bibi (NRP)

Science and Energy, Geula Cohen (Tehiya)

Communications, Ephraim Gur (Labor defector)

Defense, Benjamin Netanyahu (Likud)

Religious Affairs, Moshe Gafni (Degel Hatora)

Health, Eliazer Mizrahi (breakaway from Agudat Israel)

Housing, Avraham Ravitz (Torah Flag)

Transportation, Pinhas Goldstein (Likud-Liberal faction)

Finance, Josef Azram (Shas)

Interior, Rafael Pinhasi (Shas)