1st members selected for Public Art Commission

August 29, 2018

Fort Wayne Mayor Tom Henry on Tuesday announced the selection of 13 people to serve on the city’s new Public Art Commission. 

The 11-member commission consists of representatives from Arts United, the Fort Wayne Museum of Art, Artlink, the University of Saint Francis School of Creative Arts, Purdue Fort Wayne School of Visual & Performing Arts, Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation, the city’s Community Development Division and Fort Wayne City Council. They will be sworn in at 9 a.m. Thursday at Citizens Square. 

The 13 members: 

• Susan Mendenhall, Arts United of Greater Fort Wayne

• Charles Shepard, Fort Wayne Museum of Art

• Renata Robinson, Artlink

• Tim Parsley, University of Saint Francis School of Creative Arts

• John O’Connell, Purdue Fort Wayne School of Visual & Performing Arts

• Alec Johnson, Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation

• Pam Holocher, Fort Wayne Community Development

• Theoplis Smith, City Council appointee

• Tom Smith, City Council appointee

• Nancy Stewart, mayoral appointee

• Randy Strebig, mayoral appointee 

• Two practicing artists that will be nominated by commission members.

The commission will oversee the city’s Public Art Program, which was established in March via an ordinance sponsored by City Councilmen Glynn Hines, D-6th, and Tom Freistroffer, R-at large. Under the ordinance, the commission will review and select art to be displayed in public spaces.

The commission will also oversee the Public Art Fund, which asks developers receiving tax increment finance incentives from the city to contribute the equivalent of 1 percent of the incentive to the fund.

Contributions are capped at $100,000.