Related topics

Four Journalists Named as Winners of 1991 Cabot Prizes

October 30, 1991 GMT

NEW YORK (AP) _ Four journalists have been awarded Columbia University’s 1991 Maria Moors Cabot Prizes for furthering understanding between the Americas.

The winners, announced Wednesday, are: Eduardo Gallardo, The Associated Press Bureau Chief for Chile and Bolivia; Otavio Frias Filho, editor-in-chief of Folha de Sao Paulo in Sao Paulo, Brazil; Lucia Newman, Cable News Network’s South American Bureau Chief and Alejandro Junco de la Vega, publisher of El Norte newspaper in Monterrey, Mexico.

Three staff members of Folha de Sao Paulo - Richard Arnt, Gilberto Dimenstein, and Carlos Lins da Silva - will receive citations.

Frias Filho, 34, worked as an editorial writer at Folha, Brazil’s leading newspaper, between 1976 and 1982 before becoming editor-in-chief.

He was cited for hiring journalists with different viewpoints at a time when the Brazilian press operated under self-censorship and for starting a section on media criticism ″to restore public interest and confidence in newspapers.″

Gallardo, 48, has worked for The Associated Press in various positions - from head of the Latin American desk in New York to his current position - over his 24-year career with the AP. He was cited for a wide range of stories, including the stormy three-year presidency of Salvador Allende in Chile and the aftermath of the Nevado del Ruiz volcano in Colombia.

Newman, 39, joined CNN in 1986. She was cited for her eight-part series documenting the consequences of the civil war in Nicaragua, the drug war in the Andean region, unrest in Panama and violence in Haiti during that country’s first free elections.

Junco, a fourth-generation newspaper publisher who began his career in the family-owned El Norte and El Sol newspapers, was cited for overseeing the conversion of the newspapers to offset printing in 1971 and beginning a training program for young reporters to improve journalistic standards.

The winners will receive a gold medal and a $1,000 honorarium at a Thursday night ceremony at the university’s campus in Manhattan.

The Cabot prizes have been given annually for 53 years and are the oldest international award in journalism.

They are administered by the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and were established by the late Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston. They are named in memory of his wife.

Since 1939, 191 medals and 142 citations have been given.