Related topics

AAA School Safety Patrol Members Recognized at Reingold in Fitchburg

November 22, 2018 GMT

By Chad Garner

Special to the Sentinel & Enterprise

FITCHBURG -- Safety is so important at Reingold Elementary School.

Recently in the cafeteria, Reingold inducted its 20 fall AAA School Safety Patrol members in front of fellow students, faculty and family members.

These selected fourth-grade students have pledged to make the school a safer place.

“This is epic,” said fourth-grader and new safety patrol member CJ Pelissier. “I want to help people be safe. I protect everybody.”

The new members were announced, brought on stage and given a safety patrol belt, pin and handbook.


Fitchburg police Lt. Jeffrey Howe and Community Engagement Officer Frederick Lake were special guests and also congratulated the newest members.

“These notebooks are special and are designed just for your program and for what you guys achieve,” Howe said. “You also achieved a badge and you should be proud of that badge. You earned it. In life, if you put your mind to something and work hard, you can achieve things. Remember this day. You should be proud of yourselves and we’re proud of you.”

Pelissier’s father, Charles, said his son was extremely excited to be named a safety patrol member. He also is 100 percent supportive of this program.

“I think it’s great,” Pelissier said. “It’s a good building block and good foundation for responsibility. I think it’s awesome.”

The safety patrol has a list of duties to follow during the term, including setting a good example and encouraging other students to also observe rules at all times, report for duty on time and with proper equipment, knowing and helping enforce all rules and regulations, reporting to classroom teachers, administrators and staff members as needed, and attending and participating in all patrol meetings and training sessions.

“I want to say congratulations to everyone who is now on Safety Patrol,” said new Reingold Principal Adam Renda. “This is great. I’m very happy for all of you.”

The fall Safety Patrol members are Adrian Padilla Salgado, Shae-Lyn Smith, Serenity Vue, Aracelys Rivera Pereira, Georgianna Gallo, Alex Dessureau, Tyler Kanti McGeary, Lylaniz Kim, Syris Defelice, Lilliana Boucher, Kiera Clonan, Alyse Boykins, Cassandra LeBlanc, Miguel Gonzalez Jr., Leona Shear, Evan St. Hilaire, CJ Pelissier, Naiyla Cruz, Ismael Santiago and Lyla Girouard.