Two Minnesota colleges get new presidents

March 21, 2018 GMT

Two of Minnesota States two-year colleges will have new presidents this summer.

Annesa Cheek, a community college official in Dayton, Ohio, was named president of St. Cloud Technical and Community College by the Minnesota State board of trustees on Wednesday.

And Jeffery Boyd, a campus provost at Virginias Tidewater Community College, was named president of Rochester Community and Technical College.

Both are scheduled to start their new jobs on July 1.

Cheek has been a vice president at Sinclair Community College since 2012, and earned her doctorate in community college leadership at the University of Texas at Austin. Before starting her academic career at Sinclair in 2006, she worked for the Dayton Chamber of Commerce and the United Way.


Boyd, a one-time police detective and criminal justice instructor, has been the chief academic officer at Tidewaters Norfolk campus since 2014. He was previously a dean at Elgin Community College in Illinois. He earned his doctorate at National Louis University in Chicago.

Also Wednesday, the trustees approved a three-year contract for Devinder Malhotra, who was appointed chancellor March 2 after nearly a year in the interim role. He will receive $390,000 a year, plus allowances for housing and transportation, under his new contract.