New Jersey minimum wage climbs $1 to $11 an hour
TRENTON, N.J. (AP) — The new year brought with it a bump in New Jersey’s minimum wage to $11 an hour, up from $10.
The increase went into effect New Year’s Day, as part of a law that Democratic Gov. Phil Murphy signed last February to phase in a $15-per-hour minimum wage over five years.
The law increased the state’s $8.85 minimum wage to $10 an hour in July. The rate will climb by $1 annually until it reaches $15 in 2024 — but not for all workers.
Farm workers’ wages will climb to $12.50 over five years, for example. Workers for small businesses and seasonal employees will see their minimum wage reach $15 an hour only in 2026.
Tipped workers hourly minimum wage of $2.63, also climbed on Wednesday, to $3.13.