EPA drops 26 North Carolina counties from emissions program

September 26, 2018 GMT

ATLANTA (AP) — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has dropped 26 counties from North Carolina’s requirement for vehicle emissions inspections.

A statement from the EPA said it finalized a rule approving the state’s revision of its air quality plan. The agency said the action removes regulations that are no longer needed and is expected to save consumers money.

According to the EPA, the state showed that the counties comply with ozone air quality standards. It said removing the requirement won’t interfere with their ability to remain in compliance with any air quality standards.


The counties approved for removal from mandated vehicle emissions testing include: Brunswick, Burke, Caldwell, Carteret, Catawba, Chatham, Cleveland, Craven, Edgecombe, Granville, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Lenoir, Moore, Nash, Orange, Pitt, Robeson, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Wayne, Wilkes and Wilson.