Group Attorney Admissions Ceremony Held

January 29, 2018 GMT

The Wilkes-Barre Law & Library Association, the bar association of Luzerne County, along with its young lawyers division, held a group attorney admissions ceremony at the Luzerne County Courthouse. The presiding judge for the ceremony was the Honorable Richard M. Hughes III, president judge of the Court of Common Pleas of Luzerne County, while Judge William H. Amesbury served as keynote judge and Judge Joseph F. Sklarosky Jr. served as the administration of oath judge. The ceremony is actually a re-enacted ceremony of admission to the local bar. A separate legal bar existed in the county from 1787 until 1968. The 1968 Pennsylvania Constitution dissolved all separate county bars and created a unified judicial system for the Commonwealth. Thus, the county bar admissions today are purely ceremonial in nature and serve as admission of membership into the law library association, which is a nonprofit registered 501(c)(3) corporation that was founded in 1850 and incorporated in 1866. Seven area attorneys were admitted for membership in the local bar association. The attorneys admitted and their moving sponsors included attorney Zachery W. Berger, moved for admission by attorney James T. Shoemaker; attorney Tyler Breznitsky, moved by attorney Conrad Falvello; attorney Drew P. McLaughlin, moved by attorney John G. Dean; attorney Sean M. McNealis, moved for admission by his father, attorney Mark P. McNealis; attorney Daniel A. Taroli, moved by his father, attorney Gary S. Taroli, and attorney Julian Truskowski, moved for admission by attorney Joseph Borland. Retired Judge Joseph J. Van Jura, president of the W-BLLA, welcomed the new attorneys into the association. Also speaking at the ceremony was attorney Ana Mojtahedi, President of the W-BLLA young lawyer division. Sitting on the bench from the Commonwealth Court as a guest judge was the Hon. Joseph M. Cosgrove, who is a past president of the association. Following the ceremony, a reception was held in the Hon. Max Rosenn Memorial Law Library on the second floor of the courthouse. The law library is operated by the Association for the benefit of the State and County. It is named for Judge Max Rosenn who sat for many years on the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit. Judge Rosen was a prominent member of the law library association. From left, first row, are Hon. William H. Amesbury; Hon. Fred A. Pierantoni III; Hon. Thomas F. Burke Jr., and Hon. Joseph M. Cosgrove; second row, Jane Acri, Esq., W-BLLA Vice President; Hon. Lesa S. Gelb; Hon. Jennifer L. Rogers; Hon. Richard M. Hughes III; Hon. Michael Vough, and Hon. Joseph F. Sklarosky Jr.; third row, Joseph P. J. Burke III, Esq., W-BLLA Secretary-Treasurer; Zachary W. Berger, Esq.; Drew P. McLaughlin, Esq.; Tyler Breznitsky, Esq.; Sean M. McNealis, Esq.; Daniel A. Taroli, Esq.; Julian Truskowski, Esq.; Hon. Joseph J. Van Jura, W-BLLA President; Mary Deady, Esq., W-BLLA YLD Treasurer, and Ana Mojtahedi, W-BLLA YLD President.