Presidents’ Athletic Conference releases baseball all-star teams

May 16, 2018 GMT

The Presidents’ Athletic Conference (NCAA Division III) released its all-star baseball teams Tuesday and several WPIAL alums made the lists.

The first and second teams and honorable mentions were determined by a vote of the league’s 10 head coaches.

Washington & Jefferson senior right-hander Bryce Schnatterly, a Seneca Valley grad, was honored as PAC pitcher of the year. He went 7-0 (10 starts) with a pair of complete games and a shutout and produced a 1.98 earned-run average in 681⁄3 innings.

Schnatterly struck out 54, good for third-best in the PAC. He was 5-0 with a 1.82 ERA in six league starts.

Other WPIAL products to make the first team were St. Vincent first baseman Bobby Finn (junior, Peters Township), Washington & Jefferson first baseman Mark Merlino (senior, Penn-Trafford), Thiel outfielder Zach Hudecek (senior, Deer Lakes), Geneva outfielder Joey Luciana (senior, St. Joseph), Washington & Jefferson outfielder Ryan Sciullo (senior, Kiski Area) and St. Vincent pitcher Jimmy Malone (sophomore, Connellsville).

Voted to the second team were Thiel catcher Andrew Giesey (sophomore, Penn-Trafford), Washington & Jefferson catcher Dan Trettel (senior, North Allegheny), Westminster first basemen Brandon Rossier (senior, North Allegheny), Waynesburg second baseman Tyler Reis (junior, Penn Hills), Grove City outfielder Tyler Graham (senior, Kiski Area), St. Vincent outfielder Eddie Kilkeary (senior, Greensburg Central Catholic), Westminster utility Joe Salman (senior, Union) and Washington & Jefferson pitcher Ben Marsico (sophomore, North Allegheny).

Honorable mention selections are Chatham first baseman Carmen Jansante (senior, Bethel Park), Washington & Jefferson second basemen Luke Zahren (senior, North Allegheny), Geneva shortstop Forrest Beighley (senior, Blackhawk), Westminster third basemen Dante Parente (junior, Blackhawk), Washington & Jefferson outfielder Dante Dalesandro (junior, Mt. Lebanon), Waynesburg outfielder Mitch Nordstrom (junior, Bethel Park), Washington & Jefferson pitchers Matt Heslin (senior, Ft. Cherry), Clay Martin (junior, Canon-McMillan) and Santino Platt (junior, OLSH), and Westminster pitcher Cory Pullen (junior, North Allegheny).

Several others were presented the PAC Sportsmanship Award “established to recognize student-athletes who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior and is an ongoing effort to both recognize and encourage positive sportsmanship among all conference teams.”

This year’s award winners are Bethany catcher Matt Cavanaugh (senior, Seneca Valley), Chatham second baseman Paul Nussbaum (junior, Pine-Richland), Geneva outfielder Vinny Howells (senior, Riverside), Grove City second baseman Cameron Smail (senior, Kiski Area) and St. Vincent outfielder Matt Morrone (junior, Central Catholic).

Michael Love is a Tribune-Review staff writer. Reach him at mlove@tribweb.com or via Twitter @Mlove_Trib.