Related topics

Waupun council reorganizes following spring election

April 19, 2019

WAUPUN — There were no new faces at the Waupun Common Council’s reorganizational meeting Tuesday at City Hall, but there were changes in the committees to which aldermen and citizens were appointed.

Council members Bobbie Vossekuil (District 5), Jason Westphal (District 1) and Ryan Mielke (District 3) swore their oaths of office, administered by City Clerk Angie Hull. They rejoin other incumbents Pete Kaczmarski (District 2), Nancy Vanderkin (District 6) and Mike Matoushek (District 4).

Matoushek was elected council president on a second vote, following a 2-2 tie with Kaczmarski.

Mayor Julie Nickel reported that the annual Memorial Day Parade will not be held this year in favor of a special veterans program at Schaler Park on May 27. The time has not yet been announced.

Other committee appointments were approved as follows:

Negotiations Committee: Vanderkin, Mielke, chairman Westphal and NickelBoard of Public Works: Matoushek, chairman Mielke, Vossekuil, City Clerk Hull, Police Chief Scott Louden (or designee), Public Works Director Jeff Daane and Utility Manager Randy PosthumaBoard of Review: Nickel, Hull, citizens Fred Mollien, Jon Dobbratz, Richard Steinbach, Jan Harmsen and Dylan WeberUtility Commission: Westphal, Mielke, Posthuma, Daane, Kaczmarski, citizens Joel Heeringa, Mike Thurmer, Jeff Homan and Dave GerritsonPlan Commission: Nickel, Matoushek, Daane, Posthuma, CDA member Derek Drews, citizens Jerry Medema, Fred Lueck and Elton TerbeestFire and Police Commission: Vanderkin, citizens John Forsythe, Mike Thurmer, Carole Cronin, John Bett and Tara RhodesTransit Committee: Vanderkin, Kaczmarski, Mielke, Louden and NickelZoning Board of Appeal: Kaczmarski, Daane, Posthuma, citizens Dobbratz, Mark Nickel, Dick Walters and Frank Mesa: citizen alternate Dylan WeberLibrary Board: Westphal, Waupun schools Superintendent Steven Hill, citizens Bev Martens, Claudia Waskow, Sandy Rohrer, Steve Procise and Jan SullivanRecreation Board: Matoushek, Vossekuil, citizens Harmsen, Beth Lienhard, Randy Armga, Amy Ewert and Larry SullivanBoard of Health/Human Rights: Hill, Vossekuil, citizens Sandy Buchholz, Sylvia Landaal and Linda NickelBusiness Improvement District: Julie Nickel, citizens Harmsen, Tyler Schulz, Rich Matravers, John Theune, John Karsten, Gary DeJager, Krista Bishop, Al Verhage, Teresa Ruch and Jack Dunham.Community Development Authority: city staff and officials, Fond du Lac County Economic Development Corp., Vanderkin, citizens Derek Drews and Jill Vanderkin, downtown business owner Sue VandeBerg, Business Improvement District representative Karsten, downtown property owner Cassandra VerhageCDA Housing Sub-Committee: Julie Nickel, Hull, Karsten, housing administrator, MSA Professional ServicesADA Committee: Vossekuil, Hull, Daane, recreation board member Larry SullivanFacilities Advisory Committee: Kaczmarski, citizens Barb Schroeder, Mary Jo Kearly and Marj Peachey, financial institution member Jerry O’Connor (National Bank), real estate broker/owner Jodi Mallas (My Property Shoppe), business service provider Deb Winterhack (SSM Health), business service provider Laura Hoekstra (REACH), city recreation director Rachel Kaminski, city economic development coordinator Sarah Van Buren, EC Development Coordinator