Click to copy
Click to copy
Related topics

Bangladesh names 15-member cricket World Cup squad

January 4, 2015

DHAKA, Bangladesh (AP) — Bangladesh named a 15-member squad for this year’s cricket World Cup Sunday, leaving out experienced left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak.

The Bangladesh selection panel, led by Faruque Ahmed, included Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam and Sabbir Rahman who all made their debuts in the series against Zimbabwe in November and December.

Pace spearhead Mashrafe Bin Mortaza missed the last World Cup due to injury but this time will lead the side. All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will act as his deputy.

Just five players — Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah and Rubel Hossain — survived from the 2011 World Cup squad.

Razzak, with 20 wickets to his name over the past two tournaments, remains Bangladesh’s top World Cup wicket taker. He also has taken 207 ODI wickets for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh has been drawn in Pool A, along with Afghanistan, hosts Australia and New Zealand, England, Scotland and Sri Lanka.

It will open its tournament against Afghanistan on Feb. 18 at Canberra.



Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Mominul Hoque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Shabbir Rahaman, Soumya Sarkar, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Al Amin Hossain, Taijul Islam, Arafat Sunny.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.