Press release content from Globe Newswire. The AP news staff was not involved in its creation.
PRESS RELEASE: Paid content from Globe Newswire
Press release content from Globe Newswire. The AP news staff was not involved in its creation.

ACGME Recognizes 2022 Graduate Medical Education Community Awardees

October 29, 2021 GMT

Chicago, IL, Oct. 29, 2021 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) is proud to announce its 2022 Award recipients, honoring the perseverance and dedication the graduate medical education (GME) community has demonstrated in the face of a global pandemic. The recipients will be featured in the Awards Hall at the  2022 ACGME Annual Educational Conference, being held virtually March 30-April 1, 2022. 

“These esteemed honorees personify the resolution of the GME community to provide quality, equitable health care and education,” said ACGME President and Chief Executive Officer Thomas J. Nasca, MD, MACP, adding, “Now more than ever, it is important to recognize those who serve, and those who work every day to ensure the American public that physician education is in the most capable of hands.” 


ACGME Awards honor the best in graduate medical education. As the 2022 Annual Educational Conference approaches, the ACGME website and Blog will feature more about this year’s exceptional awardees. 


Honoring individuals who have dedicated their careers to GME and have made outstanding contributions to the enhancement of residency and fellowship education and ACGME accreditation activities, the  John C. Gienapp Distinguished Service Award  is presented to Kenneth M. Ludmerer, MD of Washington University School of Medicine. Dr. Ludmerer is recognized for his commitment to training residents and for serving as an ambassador for medical education. With an eye on historical context, he has holistically chronicled and shared the residency experience. He has received several teaching awards, including the Washington University Clinical Teacher of the Year Award, amplified the message of clinician well-being, and had a vital role in the development of the current ACGME Common Program Requirements. 

The renamed Barbara Ross-Lee, DO Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award honors ACGME-accredited Sponsoring Institutions and programs, as well as specialty organizations, working to diversify the underrepresented physician workforce and create inclusive workplaces that foster humane, civil, and equitable environments. This year’s recipients are: 

  • American Academy of Ophthalmology (Specialty Organization) 
  • Children’s National, Pediatric Residency Program (Program) 
  • Seattle Children’s Hospital, UW Pediatric Residency Program (Program) 
  • SUNY Downstate Health Science (Sponsoring Institution) 

The David C. Leach Award recognizes residents and fellows who have fostered innovation and improvement in their programs, advanced humanism in medicine, and increased efficiency and emphasis on educational outcomes. This year’s recipients are: 

  • Beverly Aiyanyor, MD; Boston Medical Center/Boston University School of Medicine 
  • Anai N. Kothari, MD; University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center 
  • Han Yu S. Liou, MD; University of Chicago 
  • Nupur Sharma, MD; Vidant Medical Center/East Carolina University 

  • Jeremy Weleff, DO; Cleveland Clinic  

The Debra L. Dooley GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award is given to program coordinators in recognition of their in-depth understanding of the accreditation process, excellent communication and interpersonal skills, and projects to improve residency programs. This year’s recipients are: 

  • Skyler Kiddy, MS; Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences-OSU Medical Center 
  • Lourdes J. Rodriguez; Montefiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine (Moses and Weiler Campuses) 
  • Hemali J. Shah, C-TAGME, PACE; University of Illinois at Chicago 

  • Mary Anne Wesner, C-TAGME; Geisinger 
  • Melissa S. Wheeler, MA; Summa Health  
  • LaToya Wright, BBA, C-TAGME; UT Southwestern Medical Center  

The GME Institutional Coordinator Excellence Award recognizes institutional coordinators who demonstrate in-depth knowledge of graduate medical education and the process for internal review. These people skillfully manage the multiple roles of administrator, counselor, enforcer, coordinator, organizer, and scheduler. This year’s recipients are: 

  • Linda Ortiz Morrison, CHCP; Luminis Health Anne Arundel Medical Center 

  • Jennifer M. Rodgers, MS, C-TAGME; Southern Illinois University School of Medicine 
  • Venice M. VanHuse, MPA; Northwell Health/Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra  

The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award honors designated institutional officials who have demonstrated strong leadership and astute resource management, and who have encouraged innovation and improvement in residency and fellowship programs and their Sponsoring Institutions. This year’s recipients are: 

  • Ted Epperly, MD; Full Circle Health 
  • Joann Porter MD, FACP; Creighton University School of Medicine 

  • Mark C. Wilson, MD, MPH; University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics 

The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award recognizes program directors who have fostered innovation and improvement in their residency/fellowship programs and served as exemplary role models for residents and fellows. This year’s recipients are: 

  • Michael Aylward, MD, FACP, FAAP; University of Minnesota 
  • Joshua Seth Broder, MD; Duke University School of Medicine 
  • Heather L. Burrows MD, PhD; The University of Michigan 

  • Nikhil Hemady, MD, FAAFP; Pontiac General Hospital 
  • Amit R.T. Joshi, MD, FACS; Einstein Healthcare Network 
  • Sachin Kedar, MBBS, MD, FAAN; University of Nebraska Medical Center 
  • Nicole M. Paradise Black, MD, Med; University of Florida, Shands Children’s Hospital  
  • Vance Y. Sohn, MD, FACS, FSSO; Madigan Army Medical Center 

Learn more about the ACGME Awards program on the ACGME website


The ACGME is a private, non-profit, professional organization responsible for the accreditation of over 12,000 residency and fellowship programs and the approximately 865 institutions that sponsor these programs in the United States. Residency and fellowship programs educate approximately 145,000 resident and fellow physicians in 157 specialties and subspecialties. The ACGME’s mission is to improve health care and population health by assessing and enhancing the quality of resident and fellow physicians’ education through advancements in accreditation and education. 

Susan White Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 3127555066